Archive for the 'Misc' Category

Damn, Dish Network must be doing some very aggressive telemarketing (Caller ID 866-668-8047) !!

Friday, July 7th, 2006

At least they don’t call me anymore. What you have to do is call a customer service rep, have them take you off the list. Unfortunately their telemarketing system does apply this to their current calling campaign. You must answer one of their calls, tolerate the stupid fat bitch that can barely speak english on the other side and refuse whatever they were selling. Then they apparently stop calling you. If you don’t call a rep to be taken off the list BEFORE answering one of their sales calls and refusing, you may be called again for one more telemarketing campaign before your removal request will take effect in their automated dialing system. If you don’t answer any of their calls, even if you call customer service to be taken off the list, they will keep calling you, as much as 6-8 attempts per day (Their dialer apparently does not implement a 1-day delay for ‘NA’ or ‘no answer’ like DialAmerica did when I worked there) until you do answer and listen to their incompetent solicitation at least once. Not even my mother tries to call more than 4-6 times per day!!

The table below has all the search phrases incoming to my blog in the past month, limiting to phrases occurring 5 or more times. Most of my blog’s traffic are people looking for the number that comes up on their caller ID when Dish Network nags them with their sorry attempts to sell premium movie channel packages!! The dupes are from different localized search sites such as google.com, google.ca or google.il

866-668-8047 Google Search 441
866-668-8047 Google Search 324
866-668-8047 Google Search 81
866-668-8047 Google Search 64
tln emule Google Search 36
bearshear Google Search 20
tln emule Google Search 16
866-668-8047 Google Search 9
866-668-8047 Google Search 9
TLN eMULE 6.0 Google Search 9
kiddy porn MSN Search 9
emule tln Google Search 9
866-668-8047 Google Search 9
866-668-8047 Google Search 9
myspace blocked Google Search 9
alqueida MSN Search 6
TLN EMULE 6.0 Google Search 6
“209.204.61.0″ Google Search 5

btw, as in my post a few months earlier, calling that 866-668-8047 number that comes up on your caller ID goes directly to a customer service rep, bypassing the automated system and any hold queue!! They STILL haven’t fixed that exploit!!! I wonder how easy it is to hack Dish Network’s online database?? Things like getting passwords that may be used on other sites, credit cards for fraud, contact info for spamming. SQL Injection (no stored procedure use or parameter filtering) and PHP code injection (parameterized include files, not filtered for cross-server urls) heaven!!

Dish Network Does Agressive Telemarketing, Exposes Exploit

Wednesday, May 17th, 2006

Dish Network called me 5 times in two days (I didn’t answer any of the calls). I looked up 866-668-8047 and found it its from Dish Network and that many people already found out that if you call it it goes directly to a customer service rep, bypassing all the ‘press 1′, ‘press’ 3 etc… automation. I called it myself and it works! And I found out that Dish Network is desparately trying to sell premium movie channel packages. I don’t need them. I either buy the DVD or download from Emule or both (download and eventually buy later).

So Dish Network’s telemarketing program is going to cost them in the long run – the need to hire more customer service reps or pay more overtime because the of exploit that was uncovered – calling 866-668-8047 goes direct to a rep! Feel free to use it to vent and whine all you want! They’re only going to call you 10 times a week (if you don’t answer) to sell you shit anyway.

Updated: Got two more calls today. I answered the second call (4th today) and got a really dumb girl that could barely speak english, let alone sell a showtime movie package.

Rember, instead of 1-800-333-DISH, call 1-866-668-8047 to get direct to a human! I think it bypasses the hold-queue too! Idiots.

If you don’t trust me, google “866-668-8047″ (with quotes) for other sites reporting the same thing.

Google
 
Web www.greatinca.net